Oakland on a budget

San Francisco, USA

7 places
Oakland on a budget

Flora Tsapovsky

Oakland to San Francisco is what Brooklyn is to Manhattan - the cooler, slightly crummier, younger sister. For being the up-and-coming new town on the block, Oakland has pockets of affordability and shabby-chic charm. Get in on the hype!

Open only few days a week and boasting a long line around lunch hours, Betty is a popular destination thanks to its famous fried chicken sandwich, as well as the strawberry shortcakes and the occasional, and very very sloppy, sloppy joes. Worth the wait, and get to know some cool locals while you're at it.

Bright and inviting, Esqueleto's space if full of talent - local designer jewelry, unusual household items, gifts and artwork mix under the careful observation of curator and owner Lauren Wolf. Fashionistas come here to look for an Instagram moment, and the staff is always chic and helpful.

A long walk down of Oakland's busiest streets is a great lesson in gentrification, culture and urbanism - the views and atmosphere change every couple of blocks, from upscale Temescal to run-down midtown and downtown. Plus, some excellent coffee and donuts on the way - watch for Golden Gate donuts on Telegraph and 42nd.

For its humble size, this museum - conveniently located on the lake - is excellent. The exhibit dedicated to California's history, on the bottom floor, is riveting - spend some time talking to volunteers and take your time exploring. The modern exhibitions change, but always stay on-point.

Meet the perfect urban lake - walkable, compact and totally adorable. Lake Merrit is Oakland's gem, available for all and sunny almost every day of the year. On the weekends, the farmers market by Grand theater becomes a hot spot, but the lake is open foe exploration - and plenty of people watching - any day of the week.

This historic cinema is still here - up for renovation, but full of old-school charm in the meantime. Being one of Oakland's most recognizable images, the Grand is always popular, so go for the affordable matinee - you'll be able to soak in the atmosphere on your own. And make sure you take a picture of the marquee - it's a must.

The sushi here is truly great and fresh, but come for the happy hour cocktails and you'll be hooked forever. 6$ mojitos and sake flights, or 5$ martinis, get everyone in the mood and the otherwise serene place becomes busy and social. Strike a conversation with a friendly stranger and maybe, as as night snack, order one of the incredible rolls.

Other routes

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
© 2022. S7 Airlines — All rights reserved

Окленд по карману

Сан-Франциско, США

7 мест
Окленд по карману

Flora Tsapovsky

Окленд – это местный Бруклин, младшая сестренка Сан-Франциско, дерзкая и чуть похуже одетая. Как любой развивающийся перспективный район, Окленд полон «потертого» очарования и вполне доступных развлечений. Проникнемся же его духом.

Открыт он не каждый день, а когда открыт, то в обед выстраиваются очереди за знаменитым сендвичем с жареной курицей и клубничным печеньем и очень жидким кофе. Подождать стоит – в очереди есть шанс познакомиться с крутыми местными жителями.

Яркий и призывный магазинчик – сокровищница талантов: украшения от местных дизайнеров, оригинальные предметы для дома, подарки и предметы искусства. Все это тщательно отбирала куратор и владелица Лорен Вольф. Фэшонистки приходят сюда за удачными кадрами для инстраграма, а персонал всегда стильно выглядит и готов помочь.

Долгая прогулка по оживленным улицам Окленда – настоящая лекция по классам, культурам и урбанизму – через каждые два квартала декорации и обстановка меняются кардинально – от престижного Темескала до обшарпанного мид- и даунтауна. А по пути можно выпить отличного кофе с донатом – ищите Golden Gate donuts на Telegraph и 42-й.

Несмотря на небольшой размер (музей удобно расположился на озере), коллекция тут просто прекрасная и посвящена истории Калифорнии, особенно интересная экспозиция на нижнем этаже, где волонтеры с радостью вам все расскажут и покажут. Проводятся здесь и выставки современного искусства, художников всегда выбирают самых актуальных.

Идеальное городское озеро – небольшое, очаровательное и словно созданное для прогулок. Это – главное украшение Окленда, где так хорошо провести солнечный день. По выходным у Большого театра становится оживленно – здесь проходит фермерский рынок, можно прийти себя показать и на других посмотреть.

Этот исторический кинотеатр сохранил свое очарование, несмотря на реставрацию. Одна из главных достопримечательностей Окленда, он всегда был популярным. Отправляйтесь на недорогой утренний сеанс и, скорее всего, насладитесь атмосферой в одиночестве. Не забудьте сделать фото шатра.

Суши здесь свежие и вкусные, но если попадете на "счастливый час" с коктейлями, то вы попались – мохито и саке по шесть долларов, мартини по пять – настроение сразу поднимается, а спокойное обычно место, наполняется людьми. Можете завязать диалог с дружелюбным незнакомцем и заказать их прекрасные роллы в качестве ночного перекуса.

Другие маршруты

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
© 2021. S7 Airlines — Все пpава защищены