South Bank Night Out

London, Great Britain

5 places
 

Londoners joke about the south bank saying it is the "wrong side of the river": it takes a while to get here, and almost impossible to leave even though the area is practically in the city centre. In fact, it is not true, and just requires some effort to know your way in here. This itinerary will show you where to dine, dance and drink cocktails if you happen to be in the southern part of London in the evening.

Tapas Brindisa

A popular restaurant with Spanish appetizers. It appeared at the Borough market 25 years ago and has earned a fame of one of the best experts in Spanish cuisine. Brindisa has several branches in London, but the one on London Bridge is probaby the best. It is situated on the corner and overlooks two streets - a quiet sidewalk that leads to Borough market and a busy Southwark street. In warm season the tables are taken out – try to occupy one of them, order sangria and sufficient amount of tapas (note that serves are rather big). The food costs more than it could have, but the special feel of the place makes it worthy. And you can't book a table - the restaurant sticks to "first come – first served" policy. Usually waiting doesn't take long, though.

The Old Thameside Inn Pub

Next to the pub there is a replica of the Golden Hinde, a ship that took sir Francis Drake in his successful tour around the globe in the XVI century. During the days the ship is open for excursions, and tourists can even spend a night aboard to see what it was like to be a medieval sailor. In the evening the ship looks marvellous and can be best observed from a terrace of The Old Thameside Inn pub. The pub occupies the building of an old spice processing facility near the famous Clink prison that existed in XII-XVIII centuries. Now it is a torture museum, not a particularly exciting one, but its presence certainly adds to the impression of the area. The Old Thameside offers a good choice of ales and lagers which make up its main feature. The place has an extremely pleasant laid-back atmosphere and is so large on the inside that you might want to walk around it before finally settling at a table.

The Hide

A bar with arguably the tastiest cocktails in London. Besides classic ones they have original drinks that you won't find anywhere else – for instance, featuring egg white and pomegranate juice. Hide is a pleasant place with cheerful atmosphere, great for visiting with a bunch of pals for a taste of their experimental menu. We would recommend to book a table, but you can always take a seat at the bar without prior reservations.

Corsica Studios

Corsica Studios is a legendary place among melomaniacs. Each night there are performances by big bands and DJs playing experimental music, dubstep, ambient, bass and drum'n'bass. The club has two spacious rooms, a stage equipped with a topnotch sound system, and a small inner yard. Local club nights are praised by the experts, while the settings are ideal for you to dance (or just listen) to music all night long.

Gong Bar

One of the main attractions south of the river is the Shard skyscraper. This 87-storey building is 306 meters high, which makes it the tallest in Europe. On the 72nd floor there is a skydeck, and on the 52nd – the highest bar in London. Gong appeared only in May, 2014, and its creators were clearly inspired by Asian culture, mostly of ancient China. The cocktail menu is brilliant, while the prices, despite the posh settings, are generally the same as everywhere else in London. They have decent prosecco and wines that go well with appetizers. The decisive advantage is the inside arrangement of the bar – even if you fail to get a seat by the window, a great view on the city opens from the far corners. You need to make reservations in advance, but spontaneous visitors can always find a spot at the bar counter.

Share
inspiration

with friends in instant messengers and social networks

More on the topic

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
© 2023. S7 Airlines All rights reserved

1. ← Лондон

Ночь на южном берегу Темзы

Лондон, Великобритания

5 мест
Ночь на южном берегу Темзы

Olga Steb

Про Южное побережье Темзы лондонцы шутят, что это «не та сторона реки»: сюда всегда далеко ехать, а с домашних вечеринок потом невозможно выбраться даже несмотря на то, что по сути район находится в самом центре города. На самом деле, это заблуждение: просто здесь не так легко разобраться. Где ужинать, танцевать и пить коктейли, оказавшись вечером на юге Лондона, расскажет этот маршрут.

Популярный ресторан с испанскими закусками. Он работает на рынке Боро уже 25 лет и успел прославиться как один из главных специалистов по испанской кухне. У Brinidsa в Лондоне есть несколько точек, но филиал на Лондон Бридж — самый приятный. Угловой ресторан смотрит сразу на 2 улицы: укромный проулок Боро маркета и широкую Саутворк-стрит, где кипит жизнь. В теплое время года столики выставляют на улицу. Постарайтесь занять один из них, закажите сангрии, прикиньте, сколько тапас вам нужно (порции у них дольно большие). Цены здесь выше, чем могли бы быть, но атмосфера того стоит. Столик заранее забронировать нельзя — ресторан придерживается политики живой очереди. Впрочем, как правило, ждать приходится недолго.

Рядом с пабом стоит воссозданный корабль-галеон «Golden Hinde» — копия судна, на котором в XVI веке сир Фрэнсис Дрейк успешно совершил кругосветное путешествие. Днем здесь проводят экскурсии и даже предлагают переночевать на корабле, чтобы прочувствовать, каково было морякам средневековья. Вечером же корабль – занятная достопримечательность. На него открывается вид с террасы паба The Old Thameside Inn. Паб расположен в здании старого завода по производству специй и соседствует со зданием знаменитой тюрьмы Клинк, которая функционировала в XII-XVIII веках. Ныне это не самый интересный музей средневековых пыток, однако сам факт предает месту определенный колорит. The Old Thameside предлагает очень неплохой выбор лагеров и элей – ради них сюда и стоит идти. Кроме того, здесь царит крайне приятная расслабленная атмосфера, а внутри помещение настолько велико, что по нему хочется как следует побродить, прежде, чем окончательно занять место за столиком.

Бар, в котором подают одни из самых вкусных коктейлей в Лондоне. Помимо классики можно найти совершенно оригинальные и ни на что не похожие напитки — например, с яичным белком и гранатовым соком. В Hide приятная атмосфера и всегда очень весело — сюда хорошо приходить большой шумной компанией и пробовать их экспериментальное меню. Столик лучше заказать заранее, но и без брони за баром всегда найдется место.

Corsica Studios - это культовая в музыкальных кругах площадка, где каждую ночь выступают крупные группы и диджеи, играющие экспериментал, эмбиент, дабстеп, басс и драм-н-басс. Клуб состоит из двух помещений и сцены с высококачественной саунд-системой, а также небольшого внутреннего дворика. Качество местных клубных ночей и концертов котируется среди профессионалов, а общая атмосфера и правда располагает к тому, чтобы плясать (или просто слушать музыку) всю ночь.

Одна из главных достопримечательностей южной набережной – небоскреб Shard. Это самое высокое здание в Европе — оно достигает 306 метров в длину и состоит из 87 этажей. На 72-м этаже есть смотровая площадка, а на 52-м находится самый высоко расположенный бар в городе. Gong, открывшийся в мае 2014 года, вдохновлен дальневосточными мотивами, преимущественно древним Китаем. Тут прекрасная коктейльная карта – несмотря на пафосность заведения, цены на коктейли в основной массе такие же, как в прочих барах города. Есть неплохое просекко и выбор вина, к которому можно заказать закуски. Несомненный плюс — в планировании помещения: если у окна сесть не получилось, панорама города будет хорошо видна даже из самых укромных уголков бара. Столик нужно бронировать заранее, но на случай спонтанного посещения в ресторане есть барная стойка, возле которой всегда найдется место.

Другие маршруты

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
© 2021. S7 Airlines — Все пpава защищены