Free London - The best activities in London that won't cost you a penny

London, Great Britain

9 places
Free London - The best activities in London that won't cost you a penny

Harriet Wiseman

With a packed lunch in your bag and an all day travel card in your hand, head to some of these destinations for a full on day that won’t cost you a penny! Many of these places have dedicated areas where you can eat your prepared lunch, as well as lots of free, informative booklets to make sure you do not spend a fortune in the gift shop. London has a lot to offer those on a budget, so get out there and get stuck in!

Park in the center of London, location of Buckingham Palace. Tourist place - no doubt, but at the same time it is a very good, namely a model park. Daffodils and squirrels? Yes! Lounge chairs and meadows? Yes! The pond? Yes! Ducks and swans? There. Joggers, strollers, ice cream? They got them.

The British Library receive a copy of every book published in the UK, this means that each year they get about 3 million new titles to add to their 150 million copy collection. There are some amazing treasures among those numbers that are accessible and on show, for example the Magna Carter, Leonardo Di Vinci’s notebook, manuscripts written by the Beatles and some of the rarest sound pieces in the world. You can enter the Library and the treasures gallery for free. If you want to take out some of the amazing books from the shelves and have a good read in the historical rooms where Virginia Woolfe herself sat, then you will need to register on site for a Reader Pass – these are also free but you must be over 18 and have both your passport and a letter with your address on it.

The National Portrait Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world. It was founded in 1856 with the aim to promote and protect through the medium of portraiture, the appreciation of the people that are making British history. It is a really interesting way to learn more about the history of this small country as you are relating to the past events on a visual level. The gallery has a brilliant exhibition programme, from collections about contemporary icons such as Audrey Hepburn to shows all about investigating historical figures such as Oliver Cromwell. They also show the BP and the Taylor Wessing prizes respectively, which is an excellent way of gauging the up and coming trends and styles within the art world. The National Portrait Gallery is free to enter.

The Fourth Plinth is the name for the northwest plinth in Trafalgar Square. Every year the sculpture on top of it changes to make way for a new piece by a contemporary artist. The artworks are usually great conversation starters as the people behind the plinth’s selection are never afraid to take a risk or choose something that is a little eccentric. This year the giant blue cockerel by Katharina Fritsch will be replaced by a skeletal horse by Hans Haacke, which will have an electronic ribbon displaying the London Stock Exchange on its leg.

There are many lovely parks in London that are all free to walk around and enjoy a picnic in. The latest one to open up is the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in Stratford, where you can walk through a lovely environment of waterways and greenery whilst also taking in the uniquely designed stadiums from the 2012 Olympic games. There is no entrance fee to the park, and there are some brilliant play areas for children, as well as climbing walls and interactive music rooms. If you wanted to spend a little bit of money then a trip up Anish Kapoor’s ArcelorMittal Orbit structure is an unforgettable experience, as is going for a swim in the world class Aquatics Centre. There are a few options for finding your way around the park: you can either follow the special route mapped out on the boards, hire a guide to show you around or go your own way and explore off of the path.

The Theatre Royal Stratford East was built in 1884 and has a reputation for being an innovative and inclusive establishment, showing plays by famous figures as well as ones that have been penned by more emerging talents. Their programme of events is varied, they hold DJ nights, comedy evenings and live music as well as the more traditional plays and performances. Ticket prices are often very reasonable and the decor is absolutely beautiful, it is well worth a visit if you are in town.

Coram’s field is the name of a huge seven acre playground in the heart of London. This area includes a city farm, a café, a community centre, a youth centre, a sports programme and a community nursery. All of the activities ran by the Coram Charity are free for children and young people up to the age of 19 to take part in, including basketball, table tennis, trampolining, athletics and dodge ball. The play areas include sand pits and a paddling pool in the summer as well as an areal slide. It is a perfect way to spend an afternoon with the kids without having to spend a fortune keeping them entertained!

The Natural History Museum is a must visit destination when you are in London, it is free to enter and has a truly incredible collection of artifacts to do with our fascinating planet. It is curated cleverly so that each piece is interesting to adults as well as being interactive and inviting for children. The museum itself is beautiful and gargantuan – you could easily spend an entire day wandering around and exploring the collections. The famous dinosaur in the entrance (locally known as ‘Dippy’) will be retired and swapped over for a giant blue Whale skeleton soon so make sure you visit her before she goes.

The Science Museum was founded in 1857 and is still one of London's most amazing spaces dedicated to education, making science approachable and encouraging the public to find the fun in the facts. Their archives are extensive and the exhibitions they show are not limited to the traditional, they play with blurring the lines between art, performance, film, theatre, cuisine and science. Museum entry is free and there are areas where you can eat your packed lunch as well as purchase hot items from the cafe.

Other routes

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
© 2023. S7 Airlines — All rights reserved

1. ← Лондон

Бюджетный Лондон: лучшие бесплатные развлечения

Лондон, Великобритания

9 мест
Бюджетный Лондон: лучшие бесплатные развлечения

Harriet Wiseman

Ланчбокс и транспортная карта и вперед, за развлечениями, которые не будут стоить вам и пенса. Во многих из этих мест есть даже, где съесть припасенный ланч и взять бесплатные информативные брошюры, не потратив целое состояние в сувенирных магазинах. В Лондоне и правда много бюджетных мест – ищите в нашем списке.

Парк в центре Лондона, в котором находится Букингемский дворец. Туристическое место — спору нет, но в тоже время это очень хороший, буквально образцовый парк. Нарциссы и белочки? Есть. Шезлонги и полянки? Есть. Пруд? Есть. Утки и лебеди? Есть. Бегуны, коляски, мороженое? Есть.

Сюда поступает экземпляр каждой книги, напечатанной в Великобритании, а это значит, что ежегодно их собрание в 150 миллионов книг пополняется еще тремя. Есть здесь и подлинные сокровища (их можно взять почитать), как, например, Великая хартия вольностей, альбом c чертежами Леонардо да Винчи, черновики Beatles и разные редкие книги. Вход в библиотеку и сокровищницу бесплатные. А если хотите взять книгу с полки и почитать в историческом зале, где сидела еще сама Вирджиния Вулф, придется зарегистрироваться на сайте и получить читательский – он тоже бесплатный, главное быть старше 18-ти и иметь при себе паспорт и письмо с адресом.

Это самое крупное собрание портретов в мире было основано в 1856, чтобы отдать дань и сохранить память о величайших людях в истории Британии. Здесь и правда можно многое узнать об истории страны с помощью картин. Размах впечатляет – представлены как портреты современных героев (Одри Хепберн), так и исторических персонажей таких, как Оливер Кромвель. Выставляются здесь и лауреаты премии BP Portrait Award и Тейлора Вессинга в области фотографии – отличная возможность первым узнать о последних трендах в мире искусства. Вход свободный.

На этом северо-западном постаменте, украшающем Трафальгарскую площадь, каждый год выставляются произведения современных художников. Эти скульптуры всегда горячо обсуждают – члены отборочного комитета проекта не боятся рисковать и ставить довольно эксцентричные работы. В этом году гигантского синего петуха Катарины Фрич заменит бронзовый скелет лошади Ганса Хааке. «Дареная лошадь» снабжена дисплеем с биржевыми курсами валют и видеокамерами, направленными на здание Лондонской фондовой биржи

Лондон славится своими очаровательными парками, куда можно свободно прийти и устроить пикник. Недавно к ним присоединился Олимпийский парк имени королевы Елизаветы II в Сратфорде, где так приятно гулять среди зелени, воды и потрясающих стадионов, оставшихся после Олимпиады 2012. Вход свободный, для детей есть отличные площадки, а еще скалодром и интерактивные музыкальные залы. Если вам не жалко денег, то обязательно сходите на смотровую площадку башни ArcelorMittal Orbi Аниша Капура или поплавайте в первоклассном Центре водных видов спорта. По парку можно гулять, придерживаясь маршрута на указателях, нанять гида или исследовать все самому.

Построенный в 1884 году, театр славится уникальными постановками классиков и начинающих драматургов. Репертуар разнообразный – от диджей-сетов до вечеров комедии, концертов живой музыки и традиционных спектаклей. Билеты вполне доступны, а интерьеры великолепны, так что сюда стоит заглянуть.

За этим названием скрывается гигантская игровая площадка в семь акров в самом сердце Лондона. Здесь есть и ферма, и кафе, и досуговый центр, и клуб для подростков, и детский сад, и спортивные секции. Владеет всем этим благотворительный фонд Coram Charity, поэтому вход для детей и подростков до 19-ти лет бесплатный, как и занятия по баскетболу, настольному тенниcу, батуту, легкой атлетике и игры в мяч. Летом тут организуют песочницы, детский бассейн и горку. Отличное место, где можно занять детей без ущерба для кошелька.

Этот музей просто нельзя пропустить – помимо бесплатного входа, тут представлена уникальная коллекция самых удивительных артефактов, собранных со всех уголков нашей планеты. Организовано все отлично, так что будет интересно и взрослым и детям, для которых здесь очень много интерактива. Сам музей гигантский и очень красивый – тут с легкостью можно провести целый день. А встретит вас знаменитый динозавр Диппи, правда ее со дня на день могут заменить на скелет гигантского голубого кита, так что спешите, пока малышку не увезли.

Основанный в 1857, этот музей за все эти годы не сдал позиций потрясающего образовательного центра, где наглядно демонстрируют, что наука – это интересно и весело. Собрание здесь внушительное и выставки всегда оригинальные на стыке искусства, перформанса, кино, театра, кулинарии и непосредственно науки. Вход свободный, и даже есть специальные зоны, чтобы перекусить, а еще кафе, где подают горячие блюда.

© 2021. S7 Airlines — Все пpава защищены